Booking Through Thursday — Vacation

I’m on vacation this week. I didn’t go anywhere exciting or exotic, I’m just not at work. Spending time puttering around the house, playing with the dog and … oh yeah. Reading. A lot.

Do your reading habits change when you’re on vacation? Do you read more? Do you indulge in lighter, fluffier books than you usually read? Do you save up special books so you’ll be able to spend real vacation time with them? Or do you just read the same old stuff, vacation or not?

It depends on what kind of vacation I’m taking.  I’ve had two this year–one to DisneyWorld and another to the beach.  In each case, I packed books for the journey there and to read while there.  But with Disney, I was so focused on enjoying time with my family and seeing as much of the four parks as possible that I didn’t read as much while there.  I did read a good deal while on the way, though since I wasn’t doing the driving.

As for the beach, I read a bit on the beach and by the pool.  Because that’s one of the most perfect places in the world to read.

As for reading choices, I often use vacation time as a good time to clear stuff off the to-be-read list.  Sometimes it depends on what I’m in the mood for at the time.  So, I tend to overpack on books because you might be in the mood for something once you get to your destination.   The Kindle has kind of helped because it makes it easier to carry more books in a lighter form.

6 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

6 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Vacation

  1. What kind of vacations certainly matters.
    You’ll find my reflections here

  2. reading rendezvous reviewz

    I someone concur with you. I usually read in order of my books kept on my desk. however, i do tend to like going through my magazines while plane riding but if driving the car, i stick to the novels. why? I dun know, lol

    http://sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com

  3. I agree, it does depended on the vacation.

    My BTT

  4. I tend to read less on holiday. It’s probably because I like busy holidays like trekking, overlanding, safari etc so I don’t have much time to read. However, I usually take something that’s a light read and easy to skip through. Love your blog. Following.

    http:\\elizabethbaxter.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

