Booking Through Thursday: What Ya Reading?

btt button

What are you reading now?

Would you recommend it?

And what’s next?

Right now, I’m in the midst of a couple  things.

The first is Mile 81, the new novella by Stephen King.  I’m resisting the urge to read it all in one sitting because I am such a fan of King’s.

Next up, I’m continuing my end of the world as we know it reading thread with Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfieffer.  Asteroid slams into the moon, devastation results.   It’s good but I’m having a hard time getting into it having just finished another end of the world type of book with Directive 51 .

Also reading Twenty Boy Summer because it came under attack a few weeks ago by the guy who got a school district to ban Slaughterhouse 5.  Note to all would-be-book-banning persons–if you want to get me curious about a book, ban it.   I’ll naturally want to see why it was banned, no matter if it’s my usual choice of reading material or not.  In this case, it’s not my usual choice of material, but darn if I’m not enjoying it.

And the biggest reason I’m not making the progress I’d like on those three books is that the new Laura Lippman book The Most Dangerous Thing arrived at my house.   I found Lippman on a recommendation from Stephen King a few years ago and have consumed her books since.  She’d be classified as a mystery writer, but that’s really a disservice.  Her books do have the elements of a mystery but they generally tend to examine the impact of a crime or criminal act on her characters.   Bless you Amazon Vine for giving me the hook-up!

Needless to say, I recommend all the books I’m currently reading and for a variety of reasons.

Next up, I’ve got a good stack on the Kindle to choose from, though part of me is leaning toward Slaughterhouse Five because of the whole banning issue.  I’ve also got the latest Harry Dresden novel sitting on my shelf, just begging to be read.  Of course, what I plan to read next could easily change between now and the time I finish the books I’m in the midst of reading!

 

8 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: What Ya Reading?

  1. Haha, you are reading a lot of books!
    I feel the same way about banned books–if you ban it, the books in question are suddenly blowing up everywhere, so I HAVE to read it! I’ve read Twenty Boy Summer–I loved it, but I don’t think it deserves to be banned :(

  2. Oh, a new novella by King? Sounds like something I might dig into next month for Halloween-ish reading.

    Slaughterhouse-5 is definitely an interesting read: not my favorite Vonnegut novel, but it’s supposed to be a classic.

  3. Love your post and your commitment to finding out about the banned books! I’m ashamed to admit I’ve never read Lippman but after your glowing praise, I will be adding her to my library!! Enjoy all your books!

  4. I have seen Stephen King movies, and since I have never found a movie that I like more than the book, I don’t know why I haven’t tried one of his novels. I have read about the release of Mile 81. If I were to read just one Stephen King novel, what one should it be?

    • Part of me is tempted to say “It” because that novel really has everything that makes King great all in one book. But it’s a long one, let me tell you. Same with “The Stand”.

      I’d say go for “Bag of Bones” and the original novella of “Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption” Or “The Shining.” Any of those are good entry points for the King universe without being tomes you can also use as a doorstop.

  5. I am very interested to see what you have to say about Twenty Boy Summer. I read it just prior to the media coverage. I think I might go back to the review and add to it since I really have more to say now. I am a new follower. I really enjoyed your content today.

    Lisa
    Lisa’s World of Books, Booking through Thursday

    • I just started Twenty Boy Summer and, so far, it passes one of my big YA tests–feeling like an authentic narrator.

      And thank you for the kind words about my posts today.

Leave a Reply

