Booking Through Thursday — Re-Read

btt button

What’s the first book that you ever read more than once? (I’m assuming there’s at least one.)

What book have you read the most times? And–how many?

I’m not sure it really counts, but growing up I had a book on tape version of Winnie the Pooh and Tigger Too.  As a kid, I loved Winnie the Pooh (my mom crocheted me stuffed Pooh bear that I still have to this day…saving it for my kids.)  Anyway, at age three I had heart surgery and I think I got this book and tape set either in the hospital or before I went into the hospital.  And I listened to it a LOT.  My mom says she can still recite whole passages from it.  I’m not sure how many times I’ve heard it or read the book, but it was quite a few.

When it comes to non-recorded books, I’d have to say that I’ve probably read most of the Ramona series by Beverly Cleary more time than I can count.    I wore out paperback copies of them growing up.   When my niece and nephew started reading, those were some of the first books I gave them as presents and I hope they enjoyed them as much as I did.

I can’t recall how many times I’ve read each book in the series, but I can still vividly recall certain moments from the various books, such as Beezus and her terrible haircut, Ramona’s first day of kindergarten (“Wait here for the present”) and so many more.

In my later years, I haven’t re-read as many books as I used to….


2 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

2 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Re-Read

  1. I re-read more as a child than I do now but I make exceptions for those special books that I come across occasionally like the Harry Potter series, Jane Eyre, and Agatha Christie and some Nicholas Sparks and most often the John Grisham novels.

    Here’s my BTT.

Leave a Reply

