Booking Through Thursday — Odd Reading Material

btt button

If you’re like me, you grew up reading everything under the sun, like the cereal boxes while you ate your breakfast, the newspapers held by strangers on the subway, the tabloid headlines at the grocery store.

What’s the oddest thing you’ve ever read? (You know, something NOT a book, magazine, short story, poem or article.)

Interesting question this week.  One obvious answer that springs to mind is that during my stricter dieting days, I would read the food labels on everything I bought and/or ate.   I found out that certain cereals (bringing it kind of full circle here) that you’d think were healthy really had more sugar and calories than, say, a bowl of Frosted Flakes.  Of course, I also learned about what a serving size meant and how to compare equal sizes, etc.

Another memory is traveling from northern Virginia to Orlando for a family vacation.  If you’ve traveled this route, you may know what I’m talking about..the South of the Border billboards.   I read just about every one of those things all through North Carolina, imagining that this place must be one of the greatest tourist highlights in the known universe.   Well, apparently they spent all their money on the billboards cause once we stopped there, it was kind of  tacky and tasteless.

But they got what they wanted, I guess…we stopped there.

6 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

6 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Odd Reading Material

  1. heyannahey

    Billboards seem to be a popular answer today. I love reading them too. (:
    My dad and I read them aloud on car trips – I’m sure it annoys everyone else traveling with us.

  2. I actually had to think about this question. Check out my answer for this weeks Booking Through Thursday.

  3. There is a sign I see all the time when I go to and from work for a place called Gnome Magic. Rumour has it that it is just somebodies house with a lot of Gnomes in the garden that it advertising itself as a tourist attraction. One day I am going to go there and find out.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-11.html

  4. Yea, something called South of the Border in SC (I think). Plus all these Firecrackers Sold Here just over the county line (whereever they were legal to be sold).

  5. Billboards are interesting reading when traveling. Stop and see mine and my giveaways.

  6. carielle

    Those are great answers! I have recently started paying close attention to the labels and am amazed at how off my ideas of portions were!

Leave a Reply

