Weekly Geeks : 10 Things About You and Your Books

Here’s this week’s challenge: The idea is simple. Tell us ten things about you with regard to books and reading. Let your imagination run wild!

1.  While I have stacks and stacks of unread books in my house, I still am always eager to find a new book recommendation from a friend, a review, browsing the bookstore or library or from a fellow blogger.

2.  I’ve always thought a great scent for a candle would be new book.

3.  While I don’t try to restrict myself to just one genre, I will admit the first section I browse in the bookstore is sci-fi and fantasy.  Second on the list is mysteries.

4.  I have a couple of autographed favorites in my collection.  They range from a couple autographed by Garrison Keillor to almost a complete set of autographed books by Rick and Bubba.  I don’t have any books autographed by Stephen King, but I’d like to have one someday.  Preferably The Stand, The Shining or The Green Mile.

5.  I prefer not to break the spine on books I’m reading.  It causes me to wince when I see people doing it.

6.  While I’d like an e-book reader just for the ability to have hundreds of books on one device that ‘s easy to carry, I still have not taken the plunge.  Part of this is I like the physical weight of a book and turning pages.  Another is I’m not sure which format will win the battle just yet. Third is they all look tempting.

7.   I always prefer to read the book before I see the movie–even if it’s an older release.  I have had Logan’s Run on DVD for a while now and intend to watch it. But only after I read the book.  And tracking down a copy wasn’t easy.

8.  I’m sure I’m not alone in this, but I’d like to write a book and have it published someday.

9.  I am an avid library user. I visit my local branch at least once a week.  I put lots of books on reserve.  This number has increased with book blogging because I’ll see a review or recommendation and want to read it.  I then jump over to my library’s on-line catalog and request it.  Sometimes this leads to my either having a wave of requests come in at once or sometimes having to recall where I heard about a book and why I requested it.

10.  I love using old tickets from games or other events as bookmarks.

2 Comments

Filed under meme, weekly geeks

2 responses to “Weekly Geeks : 10 Things About You and Your Books

  1. I love that you use ticket stubs as bookmarks. What a great idea!

  2. I too wince when I see a broken spine. I can’t resist buying books no matter how many unread books I have in my shelves…

    Here is my Sunday Salon/Weekly Geeks post!

Leave a Reply

