Booking Through Thursday: The Crap

btt button

Inspired by this post:

Do you ever crave reading crappy books?

I guess it depends on what you define as “crappy.” If you mean a book that is poorly written and ignores the basic rules of grammar and punctuation, then no. If you mean a book that may not be seen to have a “socially redeeming value” or be “great literature” then sure I will read them, if I’m interested. In this pile, I put some of the media tie-in novels that I like to read. I enjoy a good, comfortable adventure with familiar friends and they can be a good break or palate cleanser when needed. Or they can be good for reading while on a plane or traveling.

Of course, one person’s crap is another person’s treasure. I don’t care much for Dean Koontz and would file most of his books in the crap pile. (Honestly, the man writes the same book over and over again. But then so do a lot of authors.) But I know he has a large following of fans who love his books. I may not understand why they do, but I don’t begrudge them their love of something I think is crap.

6 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

6 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: The Crap

  1. I don’t crave crappy books. Check out my answer for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  2. Crappy or not, it is based on somebody’s preference in books. Everybody has their own opinions. Head over Clandestine Sanctuary to know what I think about this question.

  3. Booking Through Thursday

    Do ever crave reading crappy books?

    Sometimes you just want to turn your mind off and be entertained. They’re like romantic comedy chick flicks.

  4. I think crappy doesn’t always mean bad. bad book is one that is poorly written. Crappy can be cheesy. I think I’ll know a bad book when I read one, and might very well abort it for another (better) book. :)

  5. I loved your comment about bodice rippers and bad accents.

    And I agree with you about Koontz, though, I would argue that Jordan’s Wheel of Time series is also appallingly badly written…and yet, people love it.

Leave a Reply

