Booking Through Thursday — What Are You Reading?

I missed last week’s BTT.  But I’m back this week!

btt button

What are you reading right now? What made you choose it? Are you enjoying it? Would you recommend it? (And, by all means, discuss everything, if you’re reading more than one thing!)

I just started Cherie Priest’s Hugo-nominated novel, “Boneshaker.”   I’m a bit behind this year on my usual “read all the Hugo finalists” effort, but I’m making an effort to catch-up.  (I’d only read one of the five novels this year, which is rare for me).

The novel is part alternate history, part steampunk, part zombie story.  And so far, it’s all a lot of fun.  Set in Seattle during the later half of the 19th Century, inventor Leviticus Blue created a device that would help find gold in the Alaskan ice.  His first test of the machine created a huge earthquake in downtown Seattle, resulting in chaos and a new yellow gas rising up out of the Earth.  The gas turns those exposed to it for long periods of time into (essentially) zombies.   Walled off, that portion of the city can still be reached via airships and the underground sewer pipes.

Zeke is the son of Blue and the grandson of a hero who set free a group of prisoners who would have died of exposure to the yellow gas.  He wants to clear his father’s name and heads into the walled off city (the walls are 200 feet high), much to the chagrin of his mother.  When an earthquake seals off the underground tunnels to escape, his mom decided to go in via airship to rescue him and bring him home.

So far, the book is great.  I am loving the world-building that is taking place and the characters are interesting enough.   The concept of people boiling down the yellow gas into a drug similar to crystal meth is fascinating and I have a feeling will come back later in the story.

After picking up two not so hot reads in the past week, it’s nice to get back to a book I’m really enjoying.

So, that’s what I’m reading.

I picked it up because a)it’s been on my TBR pile for far too long and b)I wanted to read all of this year’s Hugo finalists.  I hoped to read them before the winners were announced but time got away.  It’s also part of my project to read the books I’ve purchased before I buy any more.  (Yeah, so far that’s not been as successful as I’d hoped…)

As for recommending it–I do.  Wholeheartedly.

How about you?

5 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

5 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — What Are You Reading?

  1. Reading the Hugo finalists is a great idea. Lately I haven’t been reading as much sci-fi as I once did, and I’ve never really gotten into steampunk, but this one does sound intriguing. Glad you’re enjoying it.

  2. I’m reading David Mitchell and Peter Carey, whom are both longlisted for Booker this year, but I’m digging their older works.

  3. Wow – what a different concept! Sounds like a great read.

  4. I adored Boneshaker. Cherie Priest did such an amazing job building that world.
    Here’s mine!

Leave a Reply

