Booking Through Thursday: Feels Like the First Time

btt button

What is the first book you remember reading? What about the first that made you really love reading?

According to my mom, I was an eager reader. I knew how to read from the age of three and I can’t recall a time in my life when I didn’t know ho to read.

The first book I recall reading was “Fox in Socks” by Dr. Suess. I recall that my mom recorded several books onto cassette for me to listen to and I wanted to record myself on tape reading “Fox.” Needless to say, I wasn’t anywhere as good at reading aloud as my mom and the plan didn’t work out.

And while it’s not reading, I also had a book on cassette back in the early days of Winnie the Pooh and Tigger Too. It was from Disney and I must have listened to it a million or so times. It was a gift when I had heart surgery at age three and my mom recalls that I listened to it a lot in the hospital before and after the surgery. I don’t recall that, but I do recall hearing it a lot at an early age. I guess you could say that book is one that got me excited about reading and began my love of reading.

There were two other series that got me excited about reading early on. One was the Hardy Boys because the TV show was airing. The other was the Beverly Cleary Romana series. I practically wore out my copies of those books and vividly recall a lot of the scenes from them, especially Romana waiting for the present on his first day of school and the mix-up in directions going to the mall to get Beezus’ hair cut.

6 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

6 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Feels Like the First Time

  1. Wow – surgery at three years old must have been pretty scary! But it was good you had Pooh and Tigger to help you through it. They’ve always been favorites of mine, too.

    • Yes, it was pretty frightening for a young kid. But it’s all worked out and I’m still here today to consume as many books as humanly possible. :)

  2. I don’t remember my first time. However, several books influenced my joy of reading. Here’s mine.

  3. I can’t recall my first book but I do recall that, I was hooked on Enid Blyton. She, in a way, has influenced my interest in Crime fiction.

    Then I used to devour the Nancy Drew books along with Hardy Boys. However, those came later.

    Here is my BTT: First Time post!

  4. Ann

    It is interesting to read everyones answers today, and how their minds work when we have to think about the first book that got us hooked on reading. I am almost 70 years old and I remembered like it was yesterday. Funny how our brains work, just like a little computer!

  5. bookraider

    I loved Beverly Cleary and Judy Blume. As a kid I thought they were two writers who knew what they were talking about.

Leave a Reply

