Booking Through Thursday — TBR Pile

btt button

What books do you have next to your bed right now? How about other places in the house? What are you reading?

I’ve got a couple of piles of books near my bed.   In one stack, I’ve got “Acacia,” “The Girl Who Played With Fire,” “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest” and the book I am currently reading “An Autumn War.”

Another has a collection of “Spider-Man” comics from my childhood (good for a nice trip down memory lane) as well as a couple of other things that I eventually plan to read.

Of course, I’ve got my pile of books that I’ve checked out of the library in another room.  I try to keep the library books I’m not reading together so I won’t be running around the house trying to figure out where I put this one or that one when I’m ready to read the book or it’s time to take them back.

I’ve also got a stack in my bedroom of the Hugo nominees I haven’t read for this year that I would like to read before the award winner is announced.   It’s going to be a busy summer reading-wise.

I think that not having a stack or two of books you want to read is just a shame.  And my secret to a long life is a healthy to be read pile.  How can you die when there are so many good books left to read?

11 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

11 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — TBR Pile

  1. I agree with you. I’d like to think having at least one TBR stack indicates a curious and ambitious mind. Or maybe it’s just one in desperate need of escape. Either way, I’m set.

  2. That sounds like a great philosophy, and if it works I should be around for about the next six hundred years!

    So you’ve still got your childhood comics collection? Nice that you didn’t fall victim to the “my mom threw out all my comix” syndrome that many of us suffer from!

  3. Unfortunately, my childhood comic collection was gone year’s ago. What I have is a collected run of issues of Spider-Man in a giant trade paperback.

  4. I have a more than healthy TBR pile. I like having a lot of possible choices, but would still be nice to make a bit more of a dent in my collection. For every book I finish, I think I add about three to my wish list.

    I also try to keep library books separate. They have most of a shelf to themselves so that they won’t get lost amongst the chaos.

  5. I think my “to read” pile is way beyond healthy! Like Melanie I wish I could make some progress on reading what I have on hand.

    Great idea to read through the Hugo nominees. Oops. Now my “to read” list just got bigger! There just aren’t enough hours in the day. Happy reading!

  6. “How can you die when there are so many good books left to read?”- Here here!!

    Maybe next year I’ll get to reading all the books from the Hugo and Nebula nominee lists. Valente’s Palimpsest was one of top reads last year, but I know it’s not everyone’s cup o’joe so I’d be curious to know what you think/thought.

  7. My TBR is probably more indicative of a binge than a healthy reading habit! But I agree- one must always have a stack of books waiting to be read, and an eager mind for them.

  8. Audrey

    So true! I’ve got about ten to read this summer :}. The one on my bedside table right now is called, “The Deadfall Project,” which is a very engaging crime thriller that I can’t put down. You should check it out!

  9. I’m intrigued by Palimpsest.

    I need to stop sleeping and do more reading…:)

  10. “I need to stop sleeping and do more reading…”

    And then you’d just find more books! ;-)

    I would love to have a spot just for library books. Things start off well, but then the books “move” (I swear, they creep around at night, along with the cat… ;-)

    Thanks for commenting on my blog!

  11. Reading any of the novels in the Millennium trilogy would drive away your sleep!

    BTT: Bedside

Leave a Reply

