Booking Through Thursday — Earth Day

btt  button

It’s Earth Day … what are you reading? Are your reading habits changing for the sake of the environment? What are you doing for the sake of the planet today?

Right now, I’m very distracted by a lot of books.  I’m listening to the audio book of “Heat Wave” because I’ve got back into enjoying “Castle” on ABC.  I’m reading “Curse of Chalion” by Lois McMaster Bujold for a book group and I’m also working on “The Dream of Perpetual Motion” as well.  As if that weren’t enough, I just got in three books at the library I’ve been anticipating and then there’s the new Elizabeth George novel sitting on my shelf just calling to me….

I don’t think my reading habits have changed for the sake of the environment.  While I would like an e-book reader at some point, to me you can’t replace the feel of a book in your hand while reading. The smell, the textile nature of turning pages, the ability to flip and see how much longer a chapter is or how long the next one is to see if you want to stay up just a bit later and read it.

That said, I’ve recycled some books when they’re old and falling apart.  I recycle my phone books and try to be a good steward of the gift of our planet.

3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Earth Day

  1. I have trouble believing that e-readers will ever replace real books, too. But then, I’m really a dinosaur, so I guess I shouldn’t predict! Have a great Earth Day!

  2. I am also a fan of ‘Castle’ Happy Earth Day!

  3. My reading remains same but I do my little bits in my own way to save the earth.

    BTT: Earth Day

Leave a Reply

