Booking Through Thursday — Taking a Break From All Your Worries

btt button

Do you take breaks while reading a book? Or read it straight through? (And, by breaks, I don’t mean sleeping, eating and going to work; I mean putting it aside for a time while you read something else.)

I tend to do a bit of both.   I will sometimes start two or three books at a time and then figure out which one I want to finish first and go from there.  But I do tend to finish all the books.  A lot of the decision making process can be made by how I acquired the book.  If it’s from the library and is a high demand book where I only get a week with it, I will tend to bump those up and start those sooner, even if I’m already reading something that is due later or I own.  I find that books I own or don’t have a due date on tend to drop lower on the list, unless it’s something I can’t wait to read (aka the new Dresden files book or the latest Elizabeth George novel, both of which are coming in April and I’ve got preordered and yes I’m counting days, why do you ask?)

And that doesn’t even take into account books I am reading for book club.  Those I tend to start early but will often leave and come back to…well, at least until I get a week before the meeting when it’s a race to the finish.

A lot of this is complicated by audio books.  They tend to take longer to “read” than if I was reading a book myself and I can often leave them and come back after a longer break than usual.  I tend to listen to audio books while working out or while doing chores around the house or driving, so my time to devote to them isnt’ always as much as I would to a regular book.

So to boil it down…it depends.

4 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Taking a Break From All Your Worries

  1. I only do this with boring books. I read everything else straight through.

    Creative Writing Exercise

  2. I read one book at a time and usually in one sitting. Here’s mine.

  3. There are exceptions like you said, but I am a normal one book woman.

  4. That was a very thought out answer! I enjoyed reading it and it totally makes sense that if a book is in high demand you’d want to get it back as quick as possible. I don’t use the library so I don’t have that hanging over my head :)

Leave a Reply

