Booking Through Thursday: What Are You Saying?

btt button

Suggested by Janet:

I’ve seen this quotation in several places lately. It’s from Sven Birkerts’ ‘The Gutenberg Elegies: The Fate of Reading in an Electronic Age’:

“To read, when one does so of one’s own free will, is to make a volitional statement, to cast a vote; it is to posit an elsewhere and set off toward it. And like any traveling, reading is at once a movement and a comment of sorts about the place one has left. To open a book voluntarily is at some level to remark the insufficiency either of one’s life or one’s orientation toward it.”

To what extent does this describe you?

Interesting quote and one that sort of describes me. I admit I will read a book on certain exercise equipment (and listen to audio books on others) as a way of distracting my mind and not thinking, “Gee, I could really only do 20 minutes today instead of 30″ or “Man, I’m tired and this is taking forever.”) I know on some level that what I’m doing is good for me, but I like to have both my physical body engaged and my brain engaged. I can’t always just zone out and stare at the people around me or the wall ahead of me. In some ways, using a book or audio book there is the mental way of changing the scenery even if I’m not moving physically.

I admit I read a lot to relax, to escape and to wind down. Sometimes it’s nice to get into the issues others are facing and find some that can be wrapped up (for the most part) by the time we get to the final page.

I’m not sure that answers the question, but there you have it…

3 Comments

Filed under meme

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: What Are You Saying?

  1. All I can think of is the architect on the Matrix, I am Huh?

    Here’s Mine

  2. If I read on the elliptical machine, I move at a snail’s pace. I’m much too interested in what I’m reading to really focus on the working out part. I wish I could though! Great answer!

Leave a Reply

