Tuesday Thingers


Today’s question: Favorite bookstores. What’s your favorite bookstore? Is it an online store or a bricks-and-mortar store? How often do you go book shopping? Is your favorite bookstore (or bookstores) listed as a favorite in LT? Do you attend events at local bookstores? Do you use LT to find events?

For me, bookstores are like Kryptonite.  I could browse a bookstore for hours.  I’d have to say my favorite is McKay’s Used Books in Knoxville, Tennessee.   When I lived in Knoxville, I’d go in a few times a year with books, get trade and spend the next few weeks building up the collection again.  I have a tendency with books to feel that right after I’ve read them, I should keep them forever.  After a few weeks or months, I may find this has changed and then it’s off to McKay’s.  We just got one in Nashville and it’s growing.  A used bookstore takes some time to build up the stock and to find those little wonders and gems you can’t find anywhere else.  I also like new bookstores, don’t get me wrong.  But more often than not, it’s to browse and get ideas to check out of the library and to look for used.

As for how often I go book shopping, I’d say far too often.  Probably a couple of times a month, if only to browse.  A lot of times, I’ll go in looking for a specific title on a specific day or if I’m really feeling crazy or obsessed, I’ll look for it a few days before it’s supposed to hit the shelves.  (Star Trek books are often found earlier than the street date, if you look for them).  In some ways, it’s the thrill of the hunt, finding the elusive treasure and taking it home to add to the pile of books to be read.   Which is ever growing, I might add.

I have attended events at local bookstores.  I have been part of discussion groups that met at one, but I attend a sci-fi one now that meets at the local library.  I have been to a couple of book signings for radio personalities Rick and Bubba, autographing their new book, in the past couple of year.  I’ve not been to a Harry Potter night launch, but I’d be curious to go to something like that just to see the fans.  I love anything that gets people excited about reading.

1 Comment

Filed under Tuesday Thingers

One response to “Tuesday Thingers

  1. kegsoccer

    Lol kryptonite is a good analogy! Unfortunately even though I know I shouldn’t go in- I still can’t keep away from them.

Leave a Reply

