The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon

Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policemen’s Union came highly recommended, critically acclaimed and on the shortlist for this year’s Hugo Award.

And that said, I don’t see what all the buzz is about.  The story is an alternate history and it’s got an intriguing premise.  But I just had a hard time getting into or caring about the story or characters for any sustained period of time.  There were flashes where the book was bordering on brilliance, but there was a lot in between that just never grabbed me.

A disappointment.  Maybe I had my expectations up so far that no book could ever live up to them.

1 Comment

Filed under review, science fiction

One response to “The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon

  1. It’s not just you. I abandoned Cavalier and Klay halfway through and I was so disgusted with Gentlemen of the Road that I didn’t even give it 100 pages. I didn’t even bother with this one, and from the reviews I’ve read, I made the right choice.

Leave a Reply

